The Giller Prize - Previous News

Press "Print" in your browser to print page.

back to previous news

October 1, 1997

Canada's Premier Prize for Fiction Names Its Finalists

TORONTO - Today, in a morning press conference that drew over 100 media and members of the publishing industry, The Giller Prize announced its 1997 shortlist.

Selected by the jury panel, comprised of authors Bonnie Burnard and Mavis Gallant, and writer/broadcaster Peter Gzowski, the finalists were chosen from over 65 books submitted for consideration. Those books were submitted by 27 publishers, from eight provinces and every region of the country.

Jack Rabinovitch, who founded the Prize in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, spoke briefly at the press conference. Then, speaking on behalf of the jury, Peter Gzowski named the finalists. They are:

  • Michael Helm for his novel The Projectionist published by Douglas & McIntyre
  • Shani Mootoo for her novel Cereus Blooms at Night published by Press Gang Publishers
  • Nino Ricci for his novel Where She Has Gone published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Mordecai Richler for his novel Barney's Version published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada
  • Carol Sheilds for her novel Larry's Party published by Random House of Canada

    More shortlist info

The finalists will be honoured and a winner will be announced at a gala black-tie dinner and awards ceremony, to be held at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel on the evening of Tuesday, November 4, 1997.

The Giller Prize awards $25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. Authors Bonnie Burnard and Mavis Gallant, and writer/broadcaster Peter Gzowski comprise the 1997 jury panel. The Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

back to previous news