The Giller Prize - Previous News

Press "Print" in your browser to print page.

back to previous news

October 5, 1995

Canada's Premier Prize for Fiction Names Its Finalists

TORONTO - Today, in a morning press conference that drew over 100 media and members of the publishing industry, The Giller Prize announced its 1995 shortlist.

Canada's Premier Literary Prize for Fiction, The Giller Prize awards $25,000 each year to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English.

Selected by the jury panel, comprised of authors Mordecai Richler and Jane Urquhart and editor/academic David Staines, the finalists were chosen from over 60 books submitted for consideration. Those books were submitted by 34 publishers, from seven provinces and every region of the country.

Jack Rabinovitch, who founded the Prize in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, spoke briefly at the press conference.

Then, speaking on behalf of the jury, David Staines named the finalists. They are:

  • Timothy Findley for his novel The Piano Man's Daughter, published by HarperCollins
  • Barbara Gowdy for her novel Mister Sandman, published by Somerville House
  • Leo McKay Jr. for his short story collection Like This, published by House of Anansi
  • Rohinton Mistry for his novel A Fine Balance, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Richard B. Wright for his novel The Age of Longing, published by HarperCollins

The finalists will be honoured and a winner will be announced at a gala black-tie dinner and awards ceremony to be held at Toronto's Four Season's Hotel on the evening of Tuesday, November 7, 1995.

back to previous news