The 2001 Giller Prize - News

Press "Print" in your browser to print page.

back to Previous News

October 3rd, 2001
Canada's Premier Prize for Fiction Names Its Finalists

TORONTO - Today, in a morning press conference that drew over 100 media and members of the publishing industry, The Giller Prize announced its 2001 shortlist. Selected by an esteemed jury panel, comprised of authors David Adams Richards, Joan Clark and journalist Robert Fulford, the six finalists were chosen from 78 books submitted for consideration. Those books were submitted by 32 publishers in 8 provinces, and virtually every region of the country.

Robert Fulford first addressed the crowd, and Joan Clark and David Adams Richards named the finalists. They are:

  • Sandra Birdsell for her novel The Russländer, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Michael Crummey for his novel River Thieves, published by Doubleday Canada
  • Michael Redhill for his novel Martin Sloane, published by Doubleday Canada
  • Timothy Taylor for his novel Stanley Park, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada
  • Jane Urquhart for her novel The Stone Carvers, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Richard B. Wright for his novel Clara Callan, a Phyllis Bruce Book/published by HarperFlamingoCanada

    More Info on Finalists

Jack Rabinovitch, who founded the Prize in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, also spoke at the press conference and announced that for the fourth year, the awards ceremony will be broadcast live across Canada. On Tuesday, November 6th, the finalists will be honoured and a winner announced at a gala black tie dinner and awards ceremony to be held at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel. Between 8:30P and 10:00P EST, the cocktail party and the entire award proceedings will be broadcast live on Bravo!NewStyleArtsChannel, and a rebroadcast the following day on CBC Television at 9:00P EST.

It was also announced that The Giller Prize website has undergone a radical refurbishing, enabling easier site navigation, at-a-glance comprehensive current and background information, and a patently stylish format. It can be found at

The Giller Prize awards $25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or
short story collection published in English. The Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband,
Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

back to Previous News