The Giller Prize - Previous News

Press "Print" in your browser to print page.

back to previous news

October 4, 2000

Canada's Premier Prize for Fiction Names Its Finalists

TORONTO - Today, in a morning press conference that drew over 100 media and members of the publishing industry, The Giller Prize announced its 2000 shortlist. Selected by the jury panel, comprised of authors Margaret Atwood, Alistair MacLeod, and Jane Urquhart, the finalists were chosen from over 60 books submitted for consideration. Those books were submitted by 27 publishers, from five provinces and virtually every region of the country.

Speaking on behalf of the jury, Alistair MacLeod and Jane Urquhart named the finalists. They are:

  • David Adams Richards for his novel Mercy Among the Children, published by Doubleday Canada
  • Alan Cumyn for his novel Burridge Unbound, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Elizabeth Hay for her novel A Student of Weather, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Michael Ondaatje for his novel Anil's Ghost, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Eden Robinson for her novel Monkey Beach, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada
  • Fred Stenson for his novel The Trade, published by Douglas & McIntyre.

    more shorlist info

Jack Rabinovitch, who founded the Prize in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, also spoke at the press conference and announced that for the third year, the awards ceremony will be broadcast live across Canada. On Thursday, November 2, the finalists will be honoured and a winner announced at a gala black tie dinner and awards ceremony to be held at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel. Between 8:30 and 10:00 p.m. EST, the cocktail party and the entire award proceedings will be broadcast live on Bravo! NewStyleArtsChannel.

back to previous news