The Giller Prize - Previous News

Press "Print" in your browser to print page.

back to previous news

May 12, 1997


Jack Rabinovitch, founder of The Giller Prize, is pleased to announce that authors Bonnie Burnard and Mavis Gallant and writer/broadcaster Peter Gzowski will comprise the 1997 jury for The Giller Prize. Mavis Gallant and Peter Gzowski replace author Carol Shields and editor/academic David Staines who served, with Bonnie Burnard, on last year's jury in the third year of the prize.

Dates Confirmed

This year, the shortlist is scheduled to be announced at a press conference in Toronto on the morning of Wednesday, October 1, 1997. The winner will be announced at a black-tie dinner and awards ceremony at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel, to be held on Tuesday, November 4, 1997.

Prize History

The Giller Prize awards $25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. The award was established in 1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller.

The first Giller Prize was presented in November 1994 to author M.G. Vassanji for his novel The Book of Secrets. The award went to Rohinton Mistry in 1995 for his novel A Fine Balance and last year, the prize was awarded to Margaret Atwood for her novel Alias Grace.

back to previous news