October 3rd, 2002
Canada's Premier Prize for Fiction Names Its Finalists

TORONTO - Today, in a morning press conference that drew over 100 media and members of the publishing industry, The Giller Prize announced its 2002 shortlist. Selected by an esteemed jury panel, comprised of authors Barbara Gowdy, Thomas King and scholar and academic Bill New, the five finalists were chosen from 94 books submitted for consideration. Those books were submitted by 36 publishers in 8 provinces, and virtually every region of the country.

Barbara Gowdy and Thomas King named the finalists. They are:

  • Austin Clarke for his novel The Polished Hoe, published by Thomas Allen Publishers
  • Bill Gaston for his short story collection Mount Appetite, published by Raincoast Books
  • Wayne Johnston for his novel The Navigator of New York, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada
  • Lisa Moore for her short story collection Open, published by House of Anansi Press
  • Carol Shields for her novel Unless, published by Random House Canada

    More Info on Finalists

Jack Rabinovitch, who founded the Prize in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, also spoke at the press conference and announced that for the fifth year, the awards ceremony will be broadcast live across Canada. On Tuesday, November 5th, the finalists will be honoured and a winner announced at a gala black tie dinner and awards ceremony to be held at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel. Between 8:30P and 10:00P EST, the cocktail party and the entire award proceedings will be broadcast live on Bravo!NewStyleArtsChannel, and rebroadcast the following day on CBC Television at 11:00P EST.

It was also announced that effective this year, all Giller Prize materials will be printed in the Richler Font, a typeface commissioned last year in memory of author Mordecai Richler, a close friend of Jack Rabinovitch's and a long-time advisor to The Giller Prize.

Printer-friendly version of this page

back to News