The 2001 Giller Prize - News

Printer-friendly version of this page

April 24, 2001

Jack Rabinovitch, founder of The Giller Prize, is pleased to announce that authors David Adams Richards and Joan Clark, and journalist Robert Fulford, will comprise The 2001 Giller Prize jury.

David Adams Richards was born in Newcastle, New Brunswick in 1950. He wrote his first novel, The Keeping of Gusties, at the age of 20. His most recent novel, Mercy Among the Children, was one of the two winners of The 2000 Giller Prize, was nominated for The Governor General's Award for Fiction, and has recently been nominated for the Trillium Award. Richards is one of only three writers ever to win the Governor General's Award in both the Fiction and Non-Fiction categories. Nights Below Station Street won in the Fiction category in 1988 and ten years later, Lines on the Water won in the Non-Fiction category. Richards has won two Gemini awards, the first for his 1994 teleplay Small Gifts, and the second for a screen adaptation of his novel For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down. The author now lives in Toronto with his wife and family.

Joan Clark was born in Liverpool, Nova Scotia, grew up in the Maritimes, and lived for 20 years in Western Canada. Clark is the author of three novels, two collections of short stories, and seven children's books. Her most recent novel, Latitudes of Melt, was published last year in Canada and Holland and is to be released in the United States, Germany, and Italy. Clark won The Marian Engel award in 1991 and The Canada-Scotland Exchange award in 1992. Her novel, The Victory of Geraldine Gull, was shortlisted for the Governor General's Award and the W.H. Smith Award and won The Canadian Author's Association Award in 1989. She has served on The Governor General's Award for Fiction jury and The Roger's Writers' Trust Fiction Prize jury. Joan Clark lives in St. John's, Newfoundland.

Robert Fulford began his career in journalism as a sports writer in 1950. He is now a regular contributor to the National Post, writing a weekly column on cultural issues and frequent features. He also writes a column on media for Toronto Life magazine. Fulford has been a literary and art critic for the Toronto Star, a columnist for the Globe and Mail, editor of Saturday Night magazine for 19 years, a television host for TVOntario and a radio host for the CBC. He has written several books, including his memoirs, Best Seat in the House; Accidental City, about the development of Toronto, and The Triumph of Narrative, the published version of his Massey lectures, aired on CBC in 1999. Fulford is an officer of the Order of Canada, holds honourary degrees from six Canadian universities, and is a senior fellow at Massey College.

Dates Confirmed
This year, the shortlist is scheduled to be announced at a press conference in Toronto on Wednesday, October 3. The winner will be announced at a black-tie dinner and awards ceremony at Toronto's Four Season's Hotel on Tuesday, November 6, 2001.

Prize History
The Giller Prize awards $25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch established the award in 1994 in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller.

Printer-friendly version of this page

back to news

News   History   Media   Submissions   Booksellers   Home

Site development by Focus on Media