The Giller Prize - Previous News

Press "Print" in your browser to print page.

back to previous news

October 4, 1999

Canada's Premier Prize for Fiction Names Its Finalists

TORONTO - Today, in a morning press conference that drew over 100 media and members of the publishing industry, The Giller Prize announced its 1999 shortlist. Selected by the jury panel, comprised of authors Alberto Manguel and Nino Ricci and bookseller Judith Mappin, the finalists were chosen from over 70 books submitted for consideration. Those books were submitted by 28 publishers, from eight provinces and every region of the country.

Speaking on behalf of the jury, Nino Ricci and Judith Mappin named the finalists. They are:

  • Bonnie Burnard for her novel A Good House, A Phyllis Bruce Book published by HarperFlamingoCanada
  • Timothy Findley for his novel Pilgrim, published by HarperFlamingoCanada
  • Anne Hébert for her novel Am I disturbing you?, published by House of Anansi Press
  • Nancy Huston for her novel The Mark of the Angel, published by McArthur & Company
  • David Macfarlane for his novel Summer Gone, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada

    More shortlist info

Jack Rabinovitch, who founded the Prize in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, also spoke at the press conference and announced that for the second year, the awards ceremony will be broadcast live across Canada. On Wednesday, November 3, the finalists will be honoured and a winner announced at a gala black tie dinner and awards ceremony to be held at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel. Between 8:30 and 10:00 p.m. EST, the cocktail party and the entire award proceedings will be broadcast live on Bravo! NewStyleArtsChannel.

back to previous news