The Giller Prize - Previous News

Printer-friendly version of this page

May 9, 1996


Jack Rabinovitch, founder of The Giller Prize, is pleased to announce that authors Bonnie Burnard and Carol Shields and editor/academic David Staines will comprise the 1996 jury for The Giller Prize. Bonnie Burnard and Carol Sheilds replace authors Mordecai Richler and Jane urquhart, who served with David Staines, on last year's jury in the second year of the prize.

The Giller Prize awards $25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. The award was established in 1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris giller. The first Giller Prize was presented in November 1994 to author M.G. Vassanji for his novel The Book of Secrets, published by McClelland & Stewart. Last year's award went to Rohinton Mistry for his novel A Fine Balance, also published by McClelland & Stewart.

This year, the shortlist is scheduled to be announced at a press conference in Toronto on the morning of Monday, October 7, 1996. The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie dinner and awards ceremony at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel, to be held on Wednesday, November 6, 1996.

New for 1996, Bravo!FACT, the funding entity sponsored by the Bravo!Network, has approvedpartial funding for short video profiles which will be produced to honour each author shortlisted for The Giller Prize. The videos will be screened at the November 6 awards ceremony and will air frequently from coast to coast on Bravo!NewStyleArtsChannel during regular programming after November 6.

Printer-friendly version of this page

back to previous news

News   History   Media   Submissions   Booksellers   Home

Site development by Focus on Media