The Giller Prize - Previous News

Printer-friendly version of this page

May 18, 1995


Jack Rabinovitch, founder of The Giller Prize, is pleased to announce that authors Mordecai Richler and Jane Urquhart and editor/academic David Staines will comprise the 1995 jury for The Giller Prize. Jane Urquhart replaces author Alice Munro, who served, with Mordecai Richler and David Staines, on last year's jury in the inaugural year of the prize.

The Giller Prize awards $25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. The award was established last year by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller. The first Giller Prize was presented in November 1994 to author M.G. Vassanji for his novel The Book of Secrets, published by McClelland & Stewart.

This year, the shortlist is scheduled to be announced at a press conference in Toronto on the morning of Thursday, October 5, 1995. The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie dinner ceremony at Toronto's Four Season's Hotel, to be held on Tuesday, November 7, 1995.

Printer-friendly version of this page

back to previous news

News   History   Media   Submissions   Booksellers   Home

Site development by Focus on Media