The Giller Prize awards $25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. The Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

Previous Prizes
Find out more about previous prize finalists, jury members and winners here.


About Doris Giller
January 22, 1931 - April 25, 1993

Doris Giller, who began her career as a secretary with a supermarket chain, rose to be a reporter and editor at three of Canada's major daily newspapers and made her mark in Canada's literary community... more

About Jack Rabinovitch
Founder, The Giller Prize

Born, educated and raised in Montreal, Jack Rabinovitch graduated from McGill University in 1952 with a B.A. in Honours English...more

About Yehouda Chaki
Sculptor- The Giller Prize

In addition to the $25,000 cash award, The Giller Prize presents the winner with a specially commissioned one of a kind bronze statue, sculpted by acclaimed artist Yehouda Chaki. "Although the statue is not Doris," says the artist, "she was the inspiration for it. I wanted to capture the strength of her personality...more