Scotiabank Giller Prize | Longlist

2009 Giller Prize Longlist

The 2009 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury announced its longlist on Monday, September 21. This is the 16th year of the prize and the first year that the prize has featured two non-Canadians as jurors. The jury panel - American novelist and short story writer Russell Banks, UK author and journalist Victoria Glendinning, and Canadian writer and professor, Alistair MacLeod – chose 12 titles out of nearly 100 books.
The jury read solidly for almost six months as submission after submission made its way to the UK (Victoria), upstate New York (Russell) and Nova Scotia (Alistair). Conference calls were held, books were read and re-read, e-mails flew back and forth. All in all, as Victoria Glendinning said, a life-enhancing experience.
And the longlist is:

Margaret Atwood for her novel The Year Of The Flood, published by McClelland & Stewart

Martha Baillie for her novel The Incident Report, published by Pedlar Press

The Disappeared

Kim Echlin for her novel The Disappeared, published by Hamish Hamilton Canada

Claire Holden Rothman for her novel The Heart Specialist, published by Cormorant Books

Paulette Jiles for her novel The Color Of Lightning, published by HarperCollins Publishers

Jeanette Lynes for her novel The Factory Voice, published by Coteau Books

Annabel Lyon for her novel The Golden Mean, published by Random House Canada

Linden MacIntyre for his novel The Bishop’s Man, published by Random House Canada

Colin McAdam for his novel Fall, published by Hamish Hamilton Canada

Anne Michaels for her novel The Winter Vault, published by McClelland & Stewart

Shani Mootoo for her novel Valmiki’s Daughter, published by House of Anansi Press

Kate Pullinger for her novel The Mistress Of Nothing, published by McArthur & Company

Of the longlist, the jury writes:

"Though they vary stylistically and structurally and connect with and extend a range of novelistic traditions, every one of these twelve books is an excellent, beautifully crafted work of fiction with a cast of vividly realized, memorable characters. We were particularly impressed by the authors' broad and deep visions of society and their profound affection for humanity and the natural world. Equally impressive is their imaginative engagement with history, from that of ancient Greece to yesterday's breaking news, and even in a few cases, to the history of a dystopian future."

The shortlisted finalists will be announced at a news conference at the Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto on Tuesday, October 6th. CTV is the proud broadcast partner of The Scotiabank Giller Prize. Broadcast details will be disclosed at a later date.
The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $5,000 to each of the finalists. The Scotiabank Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.