Scotiabank Giller Prize | Bios

Juror Biographies

Russell Banks

RUSSELL BANKS is the author of sixteen works of fiction, including Continental Drift, Rule of the Bone, Cloudsplitter, The Darling and The Reserve. His work has been widely translated and published in Europe and Asia and two of his novels, Affliction and The Sweet Hereafter were made into critically acclaimed motion pictures, the latter by Canadian director Atom Egoyan. Banks has contributed poems, stories and essays to The Boston Globe Magazine, Vanity Fair, The New York Times Book Review, Esquire, Harper's and many other publications. He has won numerous awards for his work, including Guggenheim and National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowships; O.Henry, Pushcart, Fels and Best American Short Story Awards; the John Dos Passos Award; and the Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He has been a PEN/Faulkner Finalist (Affliction and Cloudsplitter) and a Pulitzer Prize Finalist (Continental Drift and Cloudsplitter). He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and was New York State Author (2004-2008). He currently serves as President of Cities of Refuge North America. Banks is married to the poet Chase Twichell, with whom he lives in upstate New York, and is the father of four grown daughters.

Victoria Glendinning

VICTORIA GLENDINNING has written biographies of Elizabeth Bowen, Edith Sitwell (which won both the James Tait Black Award and the Duff Cooper Prize), Vita Sackville-West (Whitbread Prize for Biography), Rebecca West, Anthony Trollope (Whitbread Prize for Biography), and a biographical book about Jonathan Swift. She has published three novels; The Grown-Ups, Electricity, and Flight. Her most recent book, released in Canada in 2008 and in the UK in 2009, is Love's Civil War, an edition of 30 years of love-letters from Anglo-Irish novelist Elizabeth Bowen to her Canadian lover Charles Ritchie. Glendinning reviews books for national newspapers and journals in the UK, and does some broadcasting and television. From 2000-2003 she was president of English PEN (she is currently Vice-president). She has served on the Council of the Royal Society of Literature and of the London Library, and is a member of the Man Booker Prize Advisory Committee. She is a Fellow and Vice-president of the Royal Society of Literature, and on the Council of the Society of Authors. She has been awarded a CBE (Commander of the British Empire), and has four Honorary Doctorates. Glendinning has four sons, seven grandchildren, and lives in Somerset, England, with her third husband Kevin O'Sullivan and two cats.

Alistair Macleod

ALISTAIR MACLEOD was born in North Battleford, Saskatchewan and raised in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. He studied at St. Francis Xavier, the University of New Brunswick and Notre Dame where he received his Ph.D. MacLeod taught creative writing at the University of Indiana and, working alongside W.O. Mitchell, inspired generations of writers at the Banff Centre. In the spring of 2000, he retired from the University of Windsor where he was a professor of English. MacLeod has published two internationally acclaimed collections of short stories: The Lost Salt Gift of Blood (1976) and As Birds Bring Forth the Sun (1986). In 1999, MacLeod's first novel, No Great Mischief, was published to widespread critical acclaim, remaining on the national bestseller lists for more than a year. The novel went on to win the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction, the Thomas Raddal Atlantic Fiction Award, the Trillium Award for Fiction, the CAA-MOSAID Technologies Inc. Award for Fiction and, at the Canadian Booksellers Association Libris Awards, Macleod won for Fiction Book of the Year and Author of the Year. No Great Mischief also won the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the world's largest and most lucrative literary prize. MacLeod and his wife Anita have six children. They divide their time between Windsor, Ontario and Inverness County, Nova Scotia.