Scotiabank Giller Prize | Jury Panel Announced for 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Jury Panel Announced for 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Back to News Room

Toronto, ON (March 8, 2010) - Jack Rabinovitch, founder of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, is delighted to announce that legendary Canadian broadcaster and writer Michael Enright, celebrated American writer and professor Claire Messud, and award-winning UK author Ali Smith will make up this year's jury panel. Two thousand and ten marks the 17th year of the prize.

(**Media note: high-res photos of the jury are available here)

Michael Enright, host of CBC Radio's flagship current affairs program The Sunday Edition, has spent nearly 50 years as a writer, journalist and broadcaster. He has worked with The Globe and Mail, The Toronto Star, Time and Maclean's magazines, filing reports from China, Japan, the Middle East, Northern Ireland and the UK. In 1968, Enright was Washington correspondent for The Globe and Mail. In 1978, he was awarded a Southam Fellowship at Massey College; in 2007, he was the Barker Fairley Distinguished Visitor at the University of Toronto and in 2008 he was awarded an Honorary Degree from St. Thomas University. In 2009, Enright finally graduated from high school with an honorary degree from St. Michael's College. When not broadcasting he rides horses and motorcycles.

Claire Messud is the author of three novels and a book of novellas. Her most recent book, The Emperor's Children, an international bestseller, was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize, was chosen by The New York Times as one of the ten best books of 2006, and has been translated into more than 20 languages. Twice a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, Messud has received fellowships and awards from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She writes for numerous publications including The New York Review of Books, Newsweek, Bookforum, The New York Times, The Globe & Mail and The Irish Times. Messud teaches at Hunter College, and lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts with her family.

Ali Smith is the author of eight previous works of fiction, including the novel Hotel World, which was shortlisted for both the Orange Prize and the Booker Prize in 2001 and won the Encore Award and the Scottish Arts Council Book of the Year Award in 2002; and The Accidental, which won the Whitbread Award in 2005 and was shortlisted for the 2005 Man Booker Prize and the 2006 Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction. Her story collections include Free Love, which won a Saltire Society First Book of the Year Award and a Scottish Arts Council Award, and The Whole Story and Other Stories. Born in Inverness, Scotland in 1962, Smith now lives in Cambridge, England.

The 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist will be announced on September 20. This year's shortlist will be announced at a press conference in Toronto on Tuesday, October 5. The winner will be named at a black-tie dinner and awards ceremony at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel on Tuesday, November 9, 2010.

The 2010 submission package is now available at Visit us at and follow us at

The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $5,000 to each of the finalists. The award was established in 1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller. In September 2005, Scotiabank became the first ever co-sponsor of Canada’s richest literary award for fiction. Under the agreement, the prize became known as the Scotiabank Giller Prize. The prize is now in its 17th year.

Back to News Room